Skip to content

Chinese Zodiac Rabbit of 12 Animals Guardian Deity Handmade Scroll Hanging Wall Art Interior Decor Asian Print Korean Folk Painting

This unique hanging scroll is a perfect reproduction of the 17th century folk painting of 12 zodiac animals guardian deities called sibiji sinsang in Korean. The images of the twelve zodiacal deities are folk painting motifs intended to avert evil spirits and welcome good fortune. Each animal reigns for one lunar year in this fixed order with the rat first and the pig last: rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog, and pig. According to the Five Elements theory in Taoism, these animals guard 12 directions, each being in charge of each direction, the 12 Earthly Branches (sibiji) symbolizing 12 warrior deities who protect the Earth.

Click Here For More Information

Posted in Animal Deities.

Tagged with , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

0 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

You must be logged in to post a comment.